4.0 out of 5 stars Awesome book! Buy it if you don't like it blame me.

By Terrellm on August 28, 2016

Format: Kindle Edition|Verified Purchase

Great start to a awesome book. The characters are believable and not super powerful, they all have to struggle to learn new things. A lot of books just give characters super powers and makes it impossible for there to really be any progression of skills. Very glad I bought this book.

3.0 out of 5 stars book cut into pieces, not happy even tho' good story

ByAdrienne2487 on August 3, 2014

Format: Kindle Edition

As a story I was really getting into it, the characters are great, then the "book" just stopped... so I guess book 2 continues the story. Unfortunately this really is very annoying... this book cannot stand alone. Why not just the the group together as one book, why break it into pieces? If each book in this little series could stand by itself, it would have worked.
I was reading and turn the page and ... nothing. just stopped...the story just stopped with not ending. I was always taught stories had a beginning, middle and end. The one just has the beginning. Why are authors doing this??? is it to make more money?

5.0 out of 5 stars I LOVED IT! Action Packed Awesomeness!

By Reese's on April 16, 2014

Format: Kindle Edition

Oh my goodness I cannot gush enough about this book. A. Katie Rose is a genius and I am in love with this series!!!

Raine is the Kings slave, forced to fight in a deadly arena for his life he is the Kings champion and has been for ten years. Nobody knows his real name anymore though, nobody knows his true identity. When a deadly battle in the arena leaves Wolf near death he meets Rygal Prince Brutals personal wizard who heals him. All Wolf wants his to be free with his sister Arianne who he lost so long ago when they were sold into slavery. However, the Prince has other plans. When Wolf and Rygeal accidentally wound the Prince and kill the king they fled.

Princess Ly’Tana is being forced into a marriage she doesn’t want but her father feels would be best for both parties. Little does her father know the man he betrovthed his daughter to marry has no intentions of letter her live long past wedding day. When the prince does something so terrible Ly’Tana knows she needs to find a way out of this marriage soon. When the King is declared dead and war breaks out in the Kingdom Ly’Tana knows it’s time to go. Taking her soldiers with her they fled.

Now after thinking they’ve escaped Brutal has captured Ly’Tana’s griffon Bar and Ly’Tana can only think of one person who can help her get them back. Wolf.

Ah!! Okay so I am seriously in love with this book. I honestly didn’t think I would be since there is so much description of everything, but A. Katie Rose wrote this book so well I honestly didn’t notice it all that much.

The characters are all phenomenal. Ly’Tana is a warrior and she kicks major butt in this book. Her loyalty is always to those around her and she always uses her instincts to think through a situation. There are a few times when she breaks down and is vulnerable, but honestly that just made me like her more. Raine is amazing I love him. He is funny and just an all-around good person from the start. I could tell right away there was more to his story. The whole cast of characters is honestly amazing. All of them have their own personalities and they all bring something to this book that would have been empty without. I truly enjoyed all the characters, except you know the bad guys because they are seriously evil.

In A Wolf’s Eyes is such an adventure of the characters trying to escape the king and getting injured and fighting. Oh yeah In A Wolf’s Eyes is jam packed with awesome fight scenes, I mean come on you’ve got warriors, soldiers, assassins, evil dogs, a griffin, an evil king, a magician, and a slave warrior. How could you not have awesome fight scenes?

All in all, I loved this book. I could not put it down for one second and I could read this book over and over again and it wouldn’t get old. A. Katie Rose did a fantastic job and I cannot wait to read the rest of her books!

Teaser: I myself was unimpressed after hearing of him and even less so upon seeing him for the first time. Like many gladiators, Silas carried his brain in his muscles and thought himself invincible.

4.0 out of 5 stars In A Wolf's Eyes

By Ttly Addicted 2 Reading on April 8, 2014

Format: Kindle Edition

I must confess the first thing that caught my eye was the cover followed by the title. As a result, I was quite enthused to read this book. Based on the cover and the title I honestly thought that this would be a story about werewolves and being a fan of the genre I was ready to jump in with both feet. However, when I started to get into the story I realised that this was not what I was expecting. It had absolutely nothing to do with werewolves so you can imagine my disappointment. Well my disappointment was fleeting as In A Wolf's Eye took me on a fantastic an exhilarating journey. It may not have been what I expected, but it sure surpassed my expectations. In A Wolf's Eyes reminded me of the importance of never judging a book by its cover, it's what lies between the covers that is important.

In a Wolf's Eyes was told from two POVs. Some readers may find this a bit confusing, but for me it helped me to better able to relate to the main characters thoughts and feelings.

In this epic story we meet Raine aka Wolf, a slave and a formidable gladiator and Ly'Tana, warrior princess of Kel'Halla who is betrothed to crown prince Broughton aka Brutal of Khalid. Brutal is a very fitting name for the prince as I am sure you will agree with me after reading this book.

This an entertaining, funny and engaging read about love, jealousy, betrayal, friendship and the quest for power. It's filled with action, which at times was quite violent and bloody, suspense and adventure. There were a lot of twists and turns and some unexpected turn of events which had me on the edge of my seat. The story drew me in from the very first line and it became difficult for me to put it down as I could not wait to see what was going to happen next.

The characters were engaging. My favourite is Wolf. He is intelligent and a natural leader. My least favourite is Brutal. He is evil to the bone, but I guess that is what is expected of a villain.

The story is very detailed as it it provides enough information for readers to picture what is really taking place.

Overall, I enjoyed this story and I am looking forward to read the next book in the series as the ending has left me wanting more.

DISCLOSURE:
I RECEIVED A COMPLIMENTARY COPY IN EXCHANGE FOR A HONEST REVIEW

1.0 out of 5 stars Not worth the time to read

By Nina on February 8, 2014

Format: Kindle Edition

It started out with some potential, but as the story dragged on I regretted my choice more and more. The story switches each chapter between the two main characters, Raine/Wolf and Princess Ly'Tana. Unfortunately, I felt the author's voice comes through female even while writing in the male character's perspective. It gets a bit distracting. Also, too many repetitive phrases describing the characters gets old fairly quickly. An example, Ly'Tana's teeth were described as "kitten teeth" a good 5 times in one short section. Some parts dragged on with meaningless description or characterization mainly used to reinforce something with which readers have already been beat over the head several times. Those are not the worst offenses, though. That, I reserve for the irrational actions of the characters. And if you're like me and just hate to leave a story unfinished, you won't like the ending, or lack thereof, for this one. I thought I could just bear it and finish the story until it "ended" in a cliff hanger. With the little that I cared about the characters, I wasn't keen on dredging through the sequel to find out what happened to them. But I tried and the first 2 pages of the next book sealed the deal and I closed this one for good.

5.0 out of 5 stars In a Wolf's Eyes (The Saga of the Black Wolf)

By Patricia Walker on November 30, 2013

Format: Kindle Edition

I love this book! I picked it up to read intending to sit for thirty minutes or so and put it down 3 hours later... The characters are truly believable and the interaction between all of them is brilliantly written. It was fluent enough to be able to feel the frustrations, anger, fear, hatred and love and feel it all as if the reader (in this case me!) was the one actually participating in the events. I'm definitely going to pursue this story!

4.0 out of 5 stars Could easily cross genres

ByLinda Parkinson-Hardman on November 22, 2013

Format: Kindle Edition

This novel has it all, love, anger, betrayal, jealousy and hatred. Sit all that on top of a fantasy novel and you have something quite unusual in your hands. It's rare to find a fantasy novel which could sit almost as easily in the romance or crime fiction genres (without the unusual 'characters' of course) but this is one where it's just possible that those who love those other genres would genuinely get something out of this read too. It's a great start to what promises to be a grand trilogy, all we need now is the second book to go with it and tell us what happened after the massive cliffhanger Katy left behind with this one.

5.0 out of 5 stars A Great Fantasy Read!!!

ByTroy Bingham on November 18, 2013

Format: Kindle Edition

Typically I enjoy reading mystery thrillers and historical fiction. However, my daughter had me read a young adult fiction series that is now a movie which I thoroughly enjoyed so I decided to give this one a try. I had my doubts about a fantasy novel, but as I began to read this book I was hooked. The author did a great job with helping me visualize the characters. The book was a good length, and also contains many clear details that give just enough background information, making the plot easy to understand. Once I started it I couldn't stop, and 30 minutes after finishing it I had already purchased the second book in the series.

5.0 out of 5 stars Well Done!

ByMaghon Thomason November 10, 2013

Format: Kindle Edition

This is a new wonderful fantasy story that is the beginning of a new series. There are loads of well developed characters, and a adventurous story! It’s EPIC is what I think it’s supposed to be :) There’s two main POVs which lets you see so much of the story. You start with Wolf, who’s a slave/gladiator. You also have Ly’Tana (whom I’ve called Ly LOL), she’s the princess who is marrying the evil Prince to Be Brutal. Thank goodness his POV is not there. Brutal gets his name for a reason. And when a little craziness murders the king, everyone goes on the run from Brutal, but Brutal won’t let them go. He uses Bar, Ly’s bodyguard, to trap her and get her back, as he wants her kingdom.

There are some seriously good characters, not just main, but secondary. Everyone is fighting for freedom or running for their life, or just trying to be able to live, not just survive. You will love Wolf and Ly, you will love to hate Brutal, and you will cheer for those good guys, and pray for an very terrible end to the bad guy!

There’s a lot of world building, and pasts, and things to make the characters so 3 dementional. A lot of detail went into this. Yes, it sometimes makes for a lot of info, and sometimes makes the story seem a little slow. But no worries, there’s a ton of action and funny moments that you don’t even notice. You will love the action scenes. I did. And it’s not too gory for those of you who are a little squeamish.

It was an interesting plot line, as I kept thinking maybe Wolf would “be” a wolf, but nope. And that gave it a little twist for me. I really enjoyed this one and I look forward to more in this series. I believe it will get better as it goes on because it’s too good not to :) Well DONE! 4.5 FIGHTING, EPIC, INTRIGUING PAWS!

4.0 out of 5 stars Intriguing to say the least.

By Vanessa Goddard on March 14, 2013

Format: Kindle Edition

If you like a tale of gruesome fantasy mixed with a love story, then this is a book you will want to read. It enthralls you from the beginning and really doesn't let you go until the end. Moving constantly, sometimes slowly, but definitely descriptive to keep your imagination going as if you were there in the midst of it all. Adventure with the three unlikely companions on their quest for their freedom from a sadistic predator.

  • 5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent new series!

  • By A Voracious Reader on February 17, 2013

  • Format: Kindle Edition

  • The Wolf is a gladiator of Khalid with a ten year reign. Sold into slavery when he was nine when his family was killed he’s survived by his wits and his fighting skills. He’s killed more men in the arena than he can clearly recall, but he still lives by his own code of honor. When he’s mortally injured in one fight he is ready to die. However, on his way back to his cell an unlikely ally shows himself. Rygel is a powerful magician and the pet torturer for Crown Prince Broughton, a Prince nicknamed Brutal for his insane savagery. Rygel heals Wolf for reasons of his own and Wolf allows him because while his sister is out there somewhere as someone’s slave he needs to stay alive for her.

    Ly’Tana is the only daughter of the King of Hel’Halla and he has sent her to Khalid to wed Broughton in order to stop the constant warring of the two kingdoms. However, he has no idea what kind of man he has sent his daughter to and when Brutal shows his true colors, Ly’Tana and her warriors need to escape and hightail it home. An impossible task until the palace breaks out in an uproar caused by the High King being murdered and Brutal savagely beaten, the accidental handiwork of Wolf and Rygel.

    While Wolf and Rygel are fleeing what they did, Ly’Tana and her warriors use the uprising in the palace to get to their horses. Brutal’s younger brothers use the opportunity to try for a takeover, but somehow Brutal’s army manages to quell the uprising, killing two of his brothers and their armies while four of his brothers and their armies flee. Will Wolf, Rygel, Ly’Tanna and her warriors make it out of the city? Will Brutal find them and make them pay? What about Wolf’s sister? The odds sure don’t look good.

    I love this story! It is well-written with a great plot, wonderful world and well-developed characters, main and secondary. Lots of action and I love the interaction between the characters. Brutal is a deliciously villainous villain. Wow. What a horror that guy is. He made my blood run cold. I was enthralled with this story from beginning to end. And can I say how much I love Wolf? I want him for myself though I’m sure my husband would object.

    My only complaint is the gigundous cliffhanger at the end. GAH! Personally, I feel the ending should have come just a tad sooner leaving the full final scene for the opening of the next book, but since I don’t know how the next book is going to play out I’ll reserve final judgment. Speaking of which…when IS the next book coming out?! *dances from foot-to-foot impatiently*

    *Many thanks to Untreed Reads for providing me with a review copy. Please see disclaimer page on my blog.

  • 4.0 out of 5 stars A new look at epic fantasy

  • ByVeronica Morfi on September 21, 2012

  • Format: Kindle Edition

  • I was provide a free copy of the book in exchange for an honest review.

    In a Wolf's Eyes is the story of Wolf, a slave and gladiator and Ly'Tana, a princess and bride to be to the Crown Prince Broughton a.k.a Brutal. After the current King ends up dead and Brutal badly beaten Wolf and Brutal's magician pet have to flee, bacause they are the ones who killed the King. In the whole chaos that follows the attack Ly'Tana and her people manage to escape too, but Brutal won't let her go that easy. He manages to capture Bar, Ly'Tana's griffin right in front of her so he can place a trap to get her back and finally conquer her Kingdom.

    What I really loved about this book is the characters. Both the main characters and the secondary are truly brought to life. Haunted by their pasts, fighting for their freedom, falling to their knees and getting back up. Real-life characters. And my favorite: Brutal. Yes, he is the villain, but you love to hate him. And trust me I hated him ever since the first couple of chapters and a very infuriating horse scene. He is truly the perfect villain. He had me wishing for his painful death, while at the same time hoping he would keep living so I would keep hating him. Perfect bad guy material.

    Another thing I liked was the world building and the characters' past. That made everything more real. They come from different places with different stories and through out the book you get to see bits and parts of their memories and of the history of their world.

    On the other hand, I felt like the story didn't move as fast as I wanted it too. Yes, there was a lot of action, but just when I was all hyped up and lost in sword fights the main characters had to start thinking about every little detail in their future plans and what brought them there, it was a bit distracting. Also I thought that up until the moment the two main characters met the book was slow, fortunately their meeting didn't disappoint.

  • 5.0 out of 5 stars On a scale from 1 to 5, I give it a 10!!

  • Bykevinandlorraineon May 23, 2012

  • Format: Kindle Edition

  • This is a fiction fantasy thriller! An exciting pager-turner, I couldn't put it down. Ever since I read it, I've been referring it to my friends and they loved it too. One friend read it in three nights running! Its a story combination of war, romance, greed torture and magic. Its a love story, too. I loved the characters, they seemed so real, I could visualize everything. My wife and I don't always agree on the books we like, but on this one we could both agree that this is a good book and a great read. We have one serious question for the author: where is the next one?

  • 5.0 out of 5 stars More please.

  • By TexLady22 on May 20, 2012

  • Format: Kindle Edition

  • I know you are told not to judge a book by its cover, but how could I not. The artwork alone literally caught my attention. The book looked interesting. This led me to be curious about the storyline. I felt pulled into the author's world from page one. She makes you feel like you are right there as an observer. You find the main characters likable from the start. Even the minor characters you find along the way can touch your heart. I've read books where there are too many characters being introduced and too many storylines crisscrossing; it became frustating to finish that kind of book. You'll find the author of this book has nice transitions from one chapter to another. It was easy to follow the two main storylines created in this book; and how they eventually entwine. She writes descriptively which keeps your interest from waning. You can connect with any of the characters, but I wanted to be Ly'Tana's friend and ally. Just when I thought the adventure was over and Ly'Tana would head for her homeland; the author reminds you that someone is still in need of rescuing. This book is full of action. You can't wait to learn what's going to happen next. I could summarize what I have read, but I rather the reader experience this book for themselves. I will; however, add this; you learn right away why a character is nicknamed "Brutal". I absolutely enjoyed this book; and look forward to reading more from this author. I highly recommend you add this book to your collection.

  • 5.0 out of 5 stars In a Wolf's Eyes

  • By Michael on May 20, 2012

  • Format: Kindle Edition

  • I loved this book, it engrossed me right from the beginning and didn't really let up until I was able to read the last words on the page. This story is a great work of High Fantasy, with a rich and enveloping world that would rival any that I know of in depth and grandeur. There seem to only be humans in this world, but the different nations and cultures present make it seem as if each nation is a different race of beings, and that adds even more to the story. The author alternates POV between the two main characters, and I believe does so very well, even though the book is written in first person. I think this adds to the book because you will get to see/read the thoughts of the two main characters as they go through each event. She also goes back in time in order to explain what is going on with both characters during a given time frame, which is important for me so that I can find out what is going on and how each event in the novel has a relation to both stories. They do eventually meet and travel together, and it is then that many secrets are revealed, and many bonds are formed.

    I really enjoyed reading this book, and whenever I felt that a little back story would be good to have the author had one within one to two pages that allowed me to understand the scene that was occurring. I found that the story flowed naturally and well from one scene to another, and this is accomplished by the use of flashbacks as well as some rather comedic moments of the book, that had me laughing many times. These moments are what make this book so hard to put down, even though there are times when I just wanted to put the book down because I was upset that something had happened or that I thought something was going to happen. And on that note, this book was not very predictable, I found myself wrong about a lot of the predictions that I was making and that kept me interested in the book also, because most things that I was wrong about turned out to be better than what I had expected to happen.

    I think the language and details of the scenes are appropriate for this book and an adult audience. There are not many instances of swearing or other foul language but when they are present they are done in a very tasteful manner. As for the battle scenes, they are well done also. The actions flows very well from one encounter to another and gives you the feeling that it is a fluid battle instead of a choppy and forced one. The details given of the battles are also well done, giving the reader enough information to know what is going on while not giving so much grotesque details to make a reader shy away. As for other adult scenes, there are not that many, actually there are only lead up scenes, and never any actual actions are taken. This is good because I don't think this book would have worked with adult scenes in it, the next story I am not sure as much but this book had the feeling of a getting to know the world and characters, and in the next book we would be able to see the personal lives and interactions of the characters in greater detail.

    As for the characters, I absolutely loved Wolf, he reminded me so much of myself, that I was able to put myself into his shoes for much of the book. Granted he is much more imposing than I am, but I felt that the cunning and intelligence that he showed were similar to qualities that I posses, only he possesses them on a much greater scale. I found that many of the questions I had at the beginning about him were answered by the end of the story, but I was still left with the hunger for more about him.

    For the Character that I hated, definitely Brutal, but as he is the main villain I find that I am supposed to hate him, and that makes it even easier to hate him honestly. As a villain he is very good at what he does, even though I don't like or agree with what he does, but that is how a villain is supposed to act. He is also a great foil for Wolf as they are the complete opposites of each other and the reader can see how they may have been able to be a lot more alike had their upbringings been different.

    All in all I greatly enjoyed this book, and I honestly cannot wait to read the next book in the series as the ending has be greatly intrigued, but to find out why you will just have to read the novel yourself. I would like to thank Mrs. Ross for allowing me to read and review this book and I hope you all will read this book and enjoy it as much as I have.